Languages

Ausblick Karren, Dornbirn © Karrenseilbahn Dornbirn GmbH

A day in Dornbirn

As a former centre of industry, Vorarlberg’s largest city has a lot to offer and many stories to share.

Vorarlberg’s largest city presents an irresistible flair, especially when the weekly farmer’s market takes place against the picturesque backdrop of the market square.

Discover and taste local products before going on a guided tour of the city. As a former centre of textile production, Dornbirn is characterised by the villas, town houses and mills that the factory owners built. Cultural facilities, clubs and even museums, such as the ‘inatura’ interactive nature show, have now frequently taken over the former production sites. A trip to this museum is always a great experience for nature lovers and is the thing to do when the weather is bad.

Afterwards round off the outing with a cable-car trip up Dornbirn’s local mountain – the Karren. For enjoying an extensive and delicious lunch at the panorama restaurant. Capturing the view of the prospering Rhine Valley, the nearby Swiss mountains and Lake Constance in a photo is a must. Specially installed selfie-points and viewing platforms have been set up for visitors with a head for heights.

And then it’s time for an afternoon dedicated to beer. The world of beer that was created by the long-standing ‘Mohrenbräu’ company in 2016 is the place for visitors to interactively experience everything about the business’ founding family and history as well as about how it makes beer. Guided tours and tastings with qualified beer sommeliers may, of course, be booked in advance!

Trip duration:
Whole day

Number of participants:
1 to 100

Recommended reservations:
Guided tour of Dornbirn
Return trip to the mountain top with the Karren cable car
Lunch at the Panoramarestaurant Karren
Guided tour / tasting at the Mohren Biererlebniswelt (World of Beer)

Sprachen

Marktplatz Dornbirn © Dornbirn Tourismus & Stadtmarketing GmbH

Ein Tag in Dornbirn

Als frühere Industriestadt hat die größte Stadt Vorarlbergs Einiges zu bieten und eine Menge zu erzählen.

Die größte Stadt Vorarlbergs bietet, besonders wenn der bäuerliche Wochenmarkt inmitten der malerischen Kulisse des Marktplatzes stattfindet, ein unwiderstehliches Flair.

Entdecken und kosten Sie Produkte aus heimischer Produktion, bevor Sie zu einem geführten Stadtrundgang mit Ihrem Guide übergehen. Als ehemalige Textilhochburg ist Dornbirn geprägt durch Fabrikantenvillen, Bürgerhäuser und Fabriken. Heute befinden sich in ehemaligen Produktionsstätten oftmals Kultureinrichtungen, Clubs oder auch Museen, wie die interaktive Erlebnis Naturschau „inatura“. Ein Besuch dort lohnt sich für alle Naturbegeisterten und ist ein empfehlenswertes Regenwetterprogramm.

Anschließend lohnt sich die Fahrt mit der Seilbahn auf Dornbirns Hausberg Karren. Genießen Sie hier ein ausgedehntes und köstliches Mittagessen im Panoramarestaurant. Den Blick auf das prosperierende Rheintal, die naheliegenden Schweizer Berge und den Bodensee sollten Sie unbedingt mit einem Foto festhalten. Für Schwindelfreie gibt es eigens eingerichtete Selfiepoints bzw. Aussichtsplattformen.

Der Nachmittag sei dann schließlich dem Bier gewidmet. In der 2016 entstandenen Biererlebniswelt des Traditionsunternehmens „Mohrenbräu“ wird alles rund um die Gründerfamilie, die Geschichte und Produktion des Biers anschaulich erläutert und interaktiv erlebbar gemacht. Führungen und Verkostungen mit ausgebildeten Biersommeliers sind selbstverständlich auf Voranmeldung buchbar!

Erlebnisdauer:
Ganzer Tag

Teilnehmerzahl:
1 bis 100

Empfohlene Reservierungen:
Stadtführung Dornbirn
Berg- und Talfahrt mit der Karren Seilbahn
Mittagessen im Panoramarestaurant Karren
Führung / Verkostung in der Mohren Biererlebniswelt